What life is teaching me right now

My life has become a hug roller coaster within the last couple of months.  No, this isn’t going to be have pity on me story.  Its just best for me to write out my thoughts so that I can help other people who are most likely going through the same thing and realize that they are not alone.  Plus it helps me with writing when I can as well so that is always a plus.

Back in October, I was working with autistic kids and I thought I had finally found my idea in life for what I wanted to become.  I was working on getting my BCBA through ASU online and I remember thinking “Yes, things are looking up and in a couple of years, I will be making it in life.”  Then the universe has a way to bring us back to reality.  Within a few short days starting in October, I was let go from my job, and I also realized that I was going to get kicked out of ASU online cause I wasn’t doing well in school.  ( I have never been a school person so the fact that I was going for a masters was a huge step for me in life.  Learned a lot about a Masters program, will most likely never do that again.)

If that wasn’t bad enough, I then learned that my Grandpa’s cancer treatments were not working and that he would most likely dead within a year.  Life has a funny way of getting us to remember what is important in life and start on a new path in life.  It has taught me the importance of focusing on things that matter.

Family

I have learned the last couple of months that family is still everything.  Growing up in a church that taught about family has always been a concept that I knew and understood.  However, this was put even more in perspective when Grandpa was diagnosed with cancer and sadly, he did pass away in January of this year.  It was a hard pill to swallow at the time but I am grateful for the fact that I was able to spend time with him for the last couple of months before his passing.  See I learned during this time that friends are like the shores of beach.  They come and go based of how far the tide goes up.  However, family is like the peirs that we see when we are at the beach.  Strong and steady. always being there for us.  Being with family will always be a treasured moments in my life cause they will always be there for us, even when we are at our lowest points in life.

Job Search

Losing a job is hard, finding another job is even harder.  I thought that it would become easy to find a job because people would want to hire someone who did finish his bachelors degree from a great university.  However, I have now learned that job searching is a pain in the butt.  Companies are so picky when it comes to finding people.  I remember back in December that I had this job all lined up.  I finished with my third interview and they said that they would call me for a fourth interview.  I even thought the green light was there  because they were doing a background check and I got a call from there third party asking to confirm some of my references.

However, reality kicked in when I received that email that said “We have decided to close your application for employment and will not be continuing the process any further.  Then their HR department called me to say that they had another position open but they wouldn’t know about it till after the holidays.  My hopes were dashed again when they said that they closed that position and that I should look at their website again in the future for potential employment.  Needless to say that I will most likely never trust that company again.

Figured out later that the company decided to hire some lady in there thirty’s for the position.  I feel like there might have been a bias because I will say that I am a millennial and that we tend to get a bad rap all over the media.  News flash media, not all millennials are the same!  I know shocker right but hey, you don’t make money based off happy news.  No, you get your viewership up based off bad news.  Panic is always the best seller because people like to feel emotional when it comes to news.

Well, I was able to land a job.  Its in retail of course.  Sad to think that I worked on a degree just to work in retail but its always better to get back on your feet and work whenever you can.  Hopefully the lessons I learn from that failed interview will lead to a better job in the future.

This is what I have figured out what life has taught me in the last couple of months.  Time will really tell what I was suppose to learn, but its a start.  Like all journeys, we don’t see the destination in life till we look back but this is a start of my journey.

Leave a Reply

