Chicago is my kind of town

Aw yes, the thing that I have been waiting for the entire trip.  To get into Downtown Chicago!  I am not saying that I didn’t enjoy the other areas its just when you are in the Chicago land you have to see Chicago right?  However, I just realized that going to Downtown Chicago is like being at Disneyland.  You spend almost all day on your feet, the food prices are ridiculous high and the things you want to do either have too long of lines or are currently closed.

We first went to the old mission apartment.

Image

I wasn’t able to get inside, but it was great just to see it.  Just to see how Old Town Chicago was doing these days.  The architecture is still the same there’s just a lot of remodeling on the inside of the buildings now.  It brought back a lot of great memories from when I started my mission.

We then went over to see Wrigley Field.  However as we were heading over there, it started to rain.  However, that didn’t stop us from heading over there.  We got there and saw the famous stadium.

Image

We also some of the famous statues around the stadium.

Image

First off Ernie Banks “Mr. Cub”.

Then “Sweet Swinging” Billy Williams

Image

Ron Santo

Image

Finally we saw Harry Caray

Image

I really wish I had more time to learn more about these people, but sadly I didn’t have time.  I guess I will have to do my own research on these people when I have time.

We then went over to see some of the famous sites in Chicago sites in Millennium Park.  It was truly amazing because my sister and I learned how to walk on water!

Image

Actaually we didn’t but it would have been cool if we did.  No, its just the reflection of the pool of the water that makes it look like we are walking on water.  When we were walking up to it, I saw some kids running around it and I honestly thought that they were running on water.  They call this place Crown Fountain.  There are some really cool faces that are on these fountains.

Image

Some times if you are really luck and you take a photo of them they smile at you.

If you are extremely lucky or if you are not careful they will spit water at you.

ImageSo be careful.

We then went over and saw the Cloud or as the Chicagoans call it “The Bean“.  I have to say that every timeI see this place I swear it just keeps getting cooler.Image

This is like a girls heaven because its the ultimate mirror for them.

Image

We then saw the Jay Pritzker Pavilion.  Its a sweet concert hall that is outside.  While we were there, there was a performance going on at that time.  I couldn’t get a look at the people, but they looked like local people from the area.  They were playing music from the 1940’s and it was really amazing.  I kind of wish that they would use the Pavilion for other concerts besides classical but I guess that’s life.  Maybe one day they will allow other to perform there.

Image

The last stop we made was over at Buckingham Fountain.  It was really awesome to see the giant fountain in Chicago.  It seems to be always bursting with life, when its not winter of course.  I thought about throwing a coin in the fountain and making a wish, but sadly I didn’t have one.  So maybe another person will have to do it for me.

Image

Sean, Janessa and I having some fun at the fountain.

The crazy thins to think about is even though we saw this much in Chicago there is still like a thousand things we can still see.  I think no matter what you try to see in the city you will never be able to see it all.  However, that doesn’t mean you can’t try right.  I can’t wait to see what Chicago has in store for us tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

