Exploring Indiana

This was a crazy day.  We traveled about 250 miles and we hit some really cool things in Indiana.

We first left La Porte and we went over to South Bend, Indiana.  We went over to the famous University of Norte Dame.  I have to say that I really enjoyed being on the campus there.  The architecture on campus resembled a lot of European buildings.  I have to say that this is probably one of the coolest campus I have ever seen.  We went over to the famous sites here on campus.

Image

Image

It was really cool to see it.  I couldn’t figure out if it was made of real gold or not but it seems logical that it would be plated gold.  Could you imagine if it was made of real gold?

We then went to The Basilica of the Sacred Heart.  This building is extremely important on campus.  Its were all the church services are held on campus.

Image

Image

It is really awesome to be on the inside of this building.  The art in their is amazing and I really wanted to take photos.  However, right when I walked in, there was a service happening.  So I wasn’t able to take photos, but I guess that’s life at times.  If you ever visit Norte Dame you should look inside this building.

While exploring the campus I found the man that gets all the credit for finding the area.  His name is Edward Sorin.

ImageEdward Sorin right behind me.

Of course we just can’t go all religious on this visit for Norte Dame.  We have to see some of the cool spots.

We went over to Notre Dame football stadium.  However, it wouldn’t be a stop to see the stadium without seeing the famous touchdown Jesus.

ImageHad to do what he did every football game right?

Image

Image

I wish I could have gone deeper into the stadium, but the gates were closed at the time.  Maybe I will be able to come back and take a tour of the building.  Who knows.

So my dad wanted to go see the Amish country so we did head out there.  However, we just wonder around for hours looking for some really Amish food and see some real Amish people.  We found them but we just couldn’t seem to find the food.  We did find the tourist place for the Amish community.

We landed at the place called the Stahly-Nissley-Kuhns farm and saw some interesting things.

I swear this is a game that the Amish play these days.

Image

This game is a pain in the butt.  The point of this game is to get a ring on the hook.  I tried it a couple of times and couldn’t get it.  It wasn’t until later that I figure out that you have to go to the side and let the ring drop down and get caught on the hook.

Image

I swear this game mocks anyone who can’t figure it out.

How many of you like Apple Cider?  Well, we saw one of the top ten apple cider places in America.  I was really hoping that it would be up and running when I saw it but sadly that wasn’t in the cards today.  So I guess next time I drink apple cider I guess I could imagine that it came from this place instead right?

Image

The last thing that we saw today before heading to Illinois was a lighthouse in Indiana.  I didn’t think there could be a lighthouse in this state, but then I shouldn’t underestimate my dad.  He always tends to find the most random things in states that no one else would find.  I really hope I am not like that when I am older but then again I am his son so who knows.

Image

The random lighthouse in Indiana.

Tomorrow we go into the city of Chicago so this is going to get exciting.

Leave a Reply

