Catching up with people in La Porte

Today we left St. Charles, Illinois and went over to La Porte, Indiana.  While we were driving over to La Porte, Indiana, we decided to make a detour to see how the mission transfers were for the West Chicago mission.  It was also to catch up with my Mission President Jerry Fenn.  While I was there, I ran into some people who I didn’t think that I would run into at the transfer meeting.

I first ran into this kid

ImageThis is Elder Barnett, he was one of my mission companions when I was serving as a missionary.  I couldn’t believe it, I totally thought that this kid was apart of the other mission.  It was great talking to him for a couple of minutes.  He seems to be doing well.  His mission has been extended by two weeks.  So in seven weeks, Elder Barnett will be back in Ogden, Utah.  He can’t wait and I can’t wait to see him back in Utah.

While waiting to see President Jerry Fenn, my dad came up to me and said “Jacob, there is a lady here that is from Byron, Illinios and she knows you.  At first I couldn’t figure it out and then I realized who it was.

ImageIt was Carolyn Ashley.  I have to say that if there were ever a more happy person in Byron it would be her.  Carolyn Ashley laughter is so contagious that it always makes others smile.  I guess you can say that she is the life of the party.  I was able to learn by talking to her that she is now a grandma now.  Her son just had a baby boy and she is very proud of it.

I was able to talk to President Jerry Fenn for a couple of minutes, but sadly I wasn’t able to get a photo with him.  He was extremely busy and he asked the famous question that he asks all return missionaries.  He said “Jacob, have you found a girl yet to take to the temple?”  My response to him was plan and simple.  I said “President, you told us that we should get married, but you didn’t tell us when we needed to get married.  In fact, you mostly focused on us getting an education and getting on with our life’s.  He didn’t know what to say so he just walked away and said I guess I need to change my finally talk with you missionaries before you go home.  I feel bad for the missionaries now, but I guess that is how the cookie crumbles.

We left the transfer meeting and we went over to La Porte, Indiana.  I couldn’t believe how much things have changed around since the last time I was there.  We stopped by and first said hello to the Keenes and Watkins.  It was great to see them all and to see how things were doing for them.  Not a whole lot has changed for them except for the fact that the kids are getting older and bigger.  I swear, I didn’t recognize Xander when If I first saw him.  He has grown a couple of inches and he is starting to talk now.  It is just crazy how fast time can go for kids.  Even Carson had grown as well.

ImageThe Watkins (left to right) Dexter, Kristen and Xander

Image

The Keenes (from left to right) Carson, Sister Keene and Isaac

Following the Keenes, we went over to see the Ames family down in Union Mills, Indiana.

Image

The Ames Family (right to left) Kyle, Nick, Reene, Tammy, Sarah, Emily and Jody Ames

The Ames haven’t changed that much.  Well that’s not true.  They have changed in one aspect that I didn’t think was possible.  They are even more hilarious then I thought they could be.  My dad was over with me at the Ames house and he made some of the Ames children squirm a little.  He was giving Jody Ames (the mom of the family) ideas on how to see their personal life at BYU-Idaho.  I have never seen all the kids go crazy on this topic.  It was like as if the younger ones were ganging up on the older ones just to see them freak out.  However, little do the younger ones know that they are next in line and as an adult gets older, they tend to get smarter on seeing how their children are doing.  So I wonder what this house hold will hold for years to come.  Also ladies my good friend Nick Ames you should go talk to him when you can.  I think that you will find that he is an awesome guy.  Don’t believe me then go talk to him and prove me wrong.

The Paulsens were are next visit on the list.  They are still going strong.  I guess since I left the area it seems like things have become a little crazy.  Their two daughters and leg injuries and they are slowly coming back into the scene.  The boys are still boys and they are just crazy.

Image

The Paulsens.

The Scroggins were next on my list of people to see.  Things are doing well for them as well.  Kyle Scroggin is still a die hard Cubs fan and Jennifer is the same as well.  Keep cheering for them Scroggins because eventually the Cubs should be able to break the curse.  I mean if the Red Sox did it then I am sure they can do it as well.  I guess we will have to be patient and see what happens.

Image

(left to right) Jennifer and Kyle Scroggin

Finally I got to see Veyeta Penn.  Learned the most exciting news from her.  Her daughter Star Penn will be graduating from school soon.  I think if I am not mistaken its going to be this coming December.  So maybe in a couple of years we will be reading psychology books from Star Penn on how the human mind works.  It could happen you never know.

Image

Veyeta Penn

Well tomorrow I will get to see what Indiana has to offer.  Can’t wait to see what it is.

Leave a Reply

